Realtime GPU smoke simulation

Hi, I’ve just started working on Realtime Smoke Simulator running on the GPU. It’s a very early work but I’ve just managed to get some results of my work. My method allows to run in almost real time using 512x512x512 domain. (There is no adaptive domain yet). This test renders can be seen in the links below.

For now it’s a standalone program (even without graphical interface yet) but in the future I want to make it as an blender addon or even built in blender next to Mantaflow.

The only problem is time. Because I’m just a student now and I’m also an AI researcher I have very limited time so if you are a programmer or you know someone that would like to help with this project please contact me in the comment section because every help would be great :smiley:

Have a nice day everyone!!

Tests:

57 Likes

WOW, that would be nuts! Unfortunately not a programmer myself and not much of a help. just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your work. Since I saw those jawdropping demos from JangaFX I hoped someone would come and try to implement something like that into blender or as an addon.
Love the blender community, i need to get into coding sometime haha kinda scary

Hope you will find the help you need!

4 Likes

Wow it looks like you have already made some great progress. Those demos both look really good and the ability to do it in real time could be a real big gain.

Would you be proposing this as an add on to Blender, or integrated into the current smoke system (as it’s own solver…?)

I just noticed the add-on tag and was wondering. I don’t think that addons support any other language than what Python gives you. I mean, maybe you could do it as a Python extension with a .so or .pyd module?

This is awesome though, really great demo!

2 Likes

Thank you,

At first it would work as a standalone app that allows you to import obj files as inflow/collision and export simulation as OpenVDB.