Poor pivot workflow

Hello,

I have been using Autodesk Maya for around 6 years and stopped using it in 2019 and switched to Blender, I truly love Blender and I love the amazing updates and new features added with each update.
I do lack the knowledge of the Blender work timeline, but I think the software is missing key features that are essential, for example, the pivot workflow.

When working on a model let’s say, I find myself in need to change the pivot all the time, I even tried to redo the task in Maya and time my work! there is a large difference in the flow of the task.

I know there are a lot of add-ons that fix this but I can’t rely on them, they break with each update, are not 100% complete, etc.

I really think Blender should work on a picot system that can be implemented proficiently as they do everything!

But what is the particular problem? In what ways do you think the current system could be improved?

go get the machin3 tools addon - its well supported and makes the whole thing a non issue.

https://machin3.io/MACHIN3tools/docs/pie_cursor_origin/

And then go and buy an add-on from that guy.

This is a dedicated place for Blender module teams to reach out to contributors - development questions are welcome.
For feature requests, please use rightclickselect.com. For questions about how to use Blender, ask on one of the community forums.

READ THE TOP OF THE FORUM

I don’t know if my question belongs here or not, but I’m not asking how to use Blender! I’m saying that I’ve seen other software and how they handle pivot manipulations and saying Blender needs to improve the current system. I hope that clears my point of view!

I think the problem is the difficulty of changing the pivot while modeling (Edit mode). In general, I find myself keep changing the pivot after selecting components, for example, I need to rotate a face along its edge instead of the center.