Is there interest in supporting a Metal version of Cycles for MacOS?

:point_right: Moderator note: an active topic about Metal support for Cycles can be found here. :point_left:

────────────────────

I would be interested in helping to port Cycles to MacOS using Metal (since I’ve heard OpenCL problems seem to have caused MacOS GPU support to be dropped). I’m an experienced graphics programmer, and have been implementing a lot of compute kernels on MacOS with Metal recently (though mainly for cryptography and AI). I did a lot of CUDA a number of years back. I haven’t really looked at the cycles code so far so I would need a bit of time to get up to speed (and/or some assistance).

I’m starting to get some experience with Vulkan compute as well, though that hasn’t been a priority yet. But it should pay off if a port to Vulkan is desired as well.

FYI, up until it was disabled Cycles GPU rendering on my Mac was working fine as long as I disabled the AMD GPU (the Intel one worked fine). Sorry to see it go.

34 Likes

Hi,

there has been a similar discussion about Metal for Cycles on the mailing list. Here’s a link: [Bf-committers] Metal GPU support.

In summary, this is what Ton said:

[…]
But if you want to help us with Metal:

Cycles has been designed from the ground up to support multiple graphics
APIs.
It has good Cuda and OpenCL support for that reason. Here it’s possible to
add Metal as well. Cycles code base is much smaller and much better
designed (and newer :slight_smile: than Blender code.

Why not volunteer first to help with Metal for Cycles? If that project
looks like it works well, we (and you!) also get more insight in the
complexity of having this kind of work done for Blender. Adding Metal in
Cycles will take 3-6 months of work already.
[…]

4 Likes

Some info on the GPU compute stuff in Cycles: