Contribution on Rotation Modes

Hi Dr. Stüvel,

my name is Damiano, I’m a software engineer and amateur 3D modeller, and of course I love Blender :slight_smile:

I’m working on adding a new rotation mode to objects and bones (and 3D cursor as well): swing-twist, with twist axis being any of X, Y and Z.
I think I have already done most of the work on the core functionalities, and I will work on improving the Python API side and how the rotation mode is visualized in the GUI.
But before doing that, I would like to know if the developers are interested in having this new rotation mode. I think that swing-twist would be more useful than euler, quaternions or axis-angle to use for character animation, because it has 3 components similarly to euler, but it is easier and more intuitive to use than axis-angle and quaternions.
Here (Fundamental flaws in Blender's constraint philosophy? - #5 by Hadriscus), Brecht says that it would be useful to have the swing-twist rotation mode, which is already available for drivers/constraints, in objects/bones.

If you think that this contribution would be accepted, I will keep working on it.

Keep up the great work on Blender!

Damiano Oriti

7 Likes

Hi Damiano,

Swing-Twist certainly has some benefits. I’m not intimately familiar with it, though. According to Baerlocher & Boulic: Parametrization and Range of Motion of the Ball-and-Socket Joint (2000) there are multiple possible parametrisations possible, each with their own singularities. Which one did you choose for your implementation, or is this something artists have control over? Are you basing your work on any scientific paper?

Cheers,
Sybren

Hi Sybren,