VSE and Sound state / future

Hello,
One of the uses of Blender is like a “simple but well integrated with the rest of the application” video editor, through VSE. But I think that the sound has been left particularly behind.

I would like to suggest / discuss the minor improvements that would make sound more useful.

One of the first ideas I had was to add support for VST plugins, but in Blender’s guidelines they say that binary plugins are a no-no.

So I thought, what would be the minimum tools required to last minute sound editing? Equalizer? Some kind of filter perhaps?

Moreover, if you are going to edit something, you would need a visualization of if, so that would need VUMeter, or frequency visualizer,…

Here are my first thoughts about it:

https://blender.community/c/rightclickselect/vQ65/

As a developer, I would not like to reinvent the wheel again:

• I was “a little happy” to see that Audaspace, which is a library included in Blender, had several filters included, but it looks very “3d space / game oriented”. Would it remain in Blender? Has it continuation plans?
  • Other way would be to use the “complex filters” defined in ffmpeg, would it be possible?
  • And other option would be to include some well maintained library like “sox”.

What do you think would be the minimum improvements and the way to achieve them?
But more important: What would be possible to get integrated in Blender?

11 Likes

I agree, what I lack is some basic filtering options like equalizer and noise-cancelling.

I would love a node editor for audio! It could have an EQ curves node, mix nodes, noise generator, etc. That would be awesome.

1 Like

If you’re proposing to implement this yourself, you’ll need to reach out to @neXyon and @iss

Since Blender supports jack/pipewire you can just connect a suitable DAW or what have you. Why put work into audio in Blender when we have great tools available?

Is there a use-case I’m not considering?