Standalone Cycles and modern CMake

Hi,

This is my first post about Cycles (which I am just starting to learn about), so be nice to me, please :slight_smile:

I want to get familiar with the project and have spent some time browsing the code. I noticed that cmake is a bit outdated. So, I have put some effort into turning them into more modern, target-based cmake. My priorities were:

• compile code into shared/static libraries
• executable, libraries and headers installation
• for each library export a cmake target
• make a config to be able to import it by cmake command find_package(Cycles REQUIRED)
• using it in my project as follows: target_link_libraries(foobar PUBLIC Cycles::Cycles)

If the community is interested in this approach, I would be more than happy to keep sharing and pushing it as a work in progress branch so we could have a discussion.

Note that I am currently unaware of project constraints.
I haven’t solved problem of cyclic dependencies. I ended up heaving shared libraries with undefined symbols. Also note that some features are missing, such as OCL, Cuda kernels, but it is just a matter of time that I get more familiar with the project!

Cheers,

1 Like

This also came up in a rendering meeting:

Basically we’d be happy to get a contribution to improve the build system like this. Work will be needed to keep building Cycles as part of Blender as well.

1 Like

Thanks for the answer @brecht.

Can you elaborate a bit how currently Cycles is build with Blender? It seems like variables for a standalone build are hard coded and they aren’t options. Does Blender use CMake that comes with Cycles? Or does it rely on the result static lib and header files?

Think it’s best to detangle a few things, using modern cmake and being able to produce shared libraries are imho two different goals.