Spreadsheet Editor: Features Feedback

Hi, I am creating this thread with the intention of collecting feedback from the community for the Spreadsheet Editor. I am interested in adding new features for the Spreadsheet Editor. Here are the two things that I have worked on so far, much thanks to Jacques Lucke’s guidance, they are not merged in master yet -

Here are some of the ideas I had:

• Filter to Display Top 10 Rows, Bottom 10 Rows etc. (Any N rows)
  • Add a Menu in the header like “View”, “Select”, “Add” (also so that my Export as CSV gets a nice place in the header :smiley: )

People who are using Spreadsheet Editor in their projects, could you comment/reply and let me know-

• What features are you guys missing?
  • What more could be added keeping in mind from a 3D software’s perspective?

About me: I am a volunteer developer and have previously worked with the Automated Testing side of things as part of my 2 GSoCs. I would like to contribute and would like your help.
What will I do with the ideas/suggestions and features:
I will create a design proposal and pitch to the #geometry-nodes module team. And then start working on it. Since this involves more design choices than I expected, it might take time, thank you for the patience.
Things to keep in mind: I am still a newer developer, so whether I can work on a project would also depend on the availability of other developers and help I get when I get stuck.

All suggestions are welcome! Feel free to reply to this thread.
Thanks for reading :slight_smile:

9 Likes

Interactivity…
Like, be able to click to select mesh components like vertices for example… (synced with the viewport obviously)

Box select should work there too of course… :slightly_smiling_face:

Also double click the values to edit it would be handy too…
Basically make it work more like an actual editor, instead of a “viewer”… :wink:

11 Likes