Organizing scenes with the outliner

Hi,

I have to start with an apology: I come from Maya and other industry standard tools and I’m new to Blender. I try to make up for this by reading the manual and watching tutorials.

My biggest pain point right now is the design of the Outliner. In my point of view, it does lot of things I don’t need, and non of the things I am used from other applications. (Even when switching into scene hierarchy mode) I believe most of the missing features could be straight forward to implement without side effects to existing users:

1. There should be a command “Group” [Ctrl+G] that creates a new empty, re-parents the selection under the new empty, and select it. (Please don’t tell that this can simply be done by doing XYZ or purchasing one of the AddOns like “Quick Instance” or “GroupPro”. I already looked into the work arounds and find them slow, cumbersome and non-intuitive).

2. There should be an “Ungroup” command that reverses the above.

3. SHIFT+LMB should select the range of items:
    01-shift-selection

4. Some people suggested to use the Box-selection [B] mode to do 3. Which select somehow (blue) but not the way you need for regrouping:
    02-box-selectoin

5. Clicking on the outliner background should deselect everything.

6. Dragging selected objects onto a new parent should reparent all selected objects, not just the first one.
    03-reparent-multiple

7. After dragging into an Empty, the Empty should be uncollapsed by default,

8. I personally find four independent selection states very confusing. I am not convinced that this is justified.

• Current / last selected (orange)
  • Selected Object (Red)
  • Selected Element (Blue)
  • Outlined icon (not sure why this can be active, if there is no last orange selection)
  1. Duplicating a parent should also duplicate all its children by default.