My personnal feedback on Cycles

Hi everyone,

I am a french artist (https://www.artstation.com/quentinmabille) and i’ve been working with 3D for decades and using Blender since 2 years. My current tools are mainly Houdini, Blender and 3DCoat. Recently for a personal “motion design” short film i’ve been looking for the best renderer for myself.

I’ve tried several engine (Maxwell, Redshift, Luxcore, Mantra/Karma, Octane, bella render, Arnold, Clarisse, Indigo, guerilla render, 3Delight and E-Cycles) most of the time superficially but sometimes a bit more in depth. Long story short after a big crush with Octane i really think i am going with Cycles/E-Cycles after all, at least that’s what my heart wants. There is a lot of reasons but the main one is the flexibility/quality balance and the way you can look dev in the different viewport shading options. Octane in comparison feel stiff/rigid + no triplannar micro displacement, no mapping driven by procedural or texture, unpredictable fog, render lack of sharpness, weird fbx/alembic import and a few others things.

But i got somes concerns and thoughts about Cycles that i would like to share with you (not necessarily in order of importance) :

• Spectral Cycles, i won’t expand since it’s apparently in WIP but i really think having a spectral option could be a good thing.
    To my eyes when you are chasing for realism and natural look, spectral engine gives an edge especially in some colorful lighting scenarios. And more important (for me) refractive dispersion looks way better than cheated one.

Octane (Spectral and fast) also have some interesting features that i would love to have it in Blender :

• The caustics especially with the new photon tracing kernel of Octane looks amazing :