GSoC 2021: The Machine Learning based Fluid simulation Plugin POC

Hi! I am Rohan Asokan. This is sorts of an introduction and request for guidance as I did not see a topic for this idea.
I am a sophomore at IIIT Hyderabad doing my CS degree. I am interested in machine learning and its applications though I am a full stacker by trade (Pardon the expression ;)). I have to accept I am quite new to fluid simulations, but I am a quick learner. I have some experience with machine learning - not so much. But, I would like to try my hand with this plugin - cuz its a really cool thing to be doing.

Sebastián Barschkis (you were marked as the mentor for this project) could you please hint on my next steps? Thanks.

Hoping to have a great time with blender, Insert cool term for people using blender.

Github: https://github.com/ArenaGrenade
Website: https://arenagrenade.github.io/portfolio/ (A word of warning - don’t try opening it on really low-end devices - its still under construction and not very optimized.)

7 Likes

Glad to see you’re interested. The project on ML and fluid simulations is more of an exploratory project and chance for students to set goals.
It would be a great way for someone with experience in ML or simulations or 3d engineering applications to get into computer graphics software and share new perspectives.

In contrast to projects with a well-defined structure (e.g. a project that asks you to implement feature X) this project will be more open-ended. The description in the Wiki is just the general direction. You can define the milestones within the project and what you ultimately want to build.

For the first steps, think about how ML would fit into the current simulation workflow. What would have to change? How would users interact with the new system?

1 Like

Alright! I will take a look into a few papers and also as to where we can add stuff - I can get back to you on blender.chat?

Yes, blender.chat is a good place for that.

1 Like