GSoC 2021: Core Library Tests

Hello my name is Lefteris, i am a 3rd year CS student in Greece. I am interested in the Core Library Tests project for GSoC. I am experienced in C/C++ (and some Python) but the only experience i have with graphics programming is a 2D chess i made with SFML/C++. If i am not suitable for the specific project, i am still interested in taking part in some other project idea with Blender.

However i am not so sure what my next step should be before i try to apply for GSoC. I need some guidance if possible, i have not yet taken a look at Blender’s code, and i do not know how much do i need to know of the code to take part in the project.

3 Likes

However i am not so sure what my next step should be before i try to apply for GSoC.

I don’t know if you’d want to not apply if you complete the steps mentioned below (which are personal opinions, and not a requirement). They’ll take time to do. These will prepare you enough before the project starts in June.

These can be done after proposal submission and before project’s start.

• Be able to add a new GTest (and investigate it with a debugger if it fails). Tools/Tests/GTest - Blender Developer Wiki
  • Being able to see if a branch/ line is reached after running a test would guide you to add edge case tests. There’s LLVM-cov for that on mac, and gcov on linux. I tried llvm-cov once (lite + GTest). Coverage results and a helper script are at Developer Portal - developer.blender.org . Feel free to use the numbers for the proposal. They may vary significantly if full blender is tested, but that will be indirect testing which may not be as comprehensive/ reliable as direct one.
    Being able to find docs and add relevant compile flags is an exercise for the reader (;.

Not related to Blender or GSoC, just a personal favorite:

and i do not know how much do i need to know of the code to take part in the project.