Fixing Camera Pan/Orbit Mouse/Keyboard toggle interaction

Hello, I’m a 3D Artist at Grinding Gear Games, I work on Path of Exile.
https://www.artstation.com/danebrennand

I’ve been wanting to switch to Blender for years but every time I start, the camera controls keep me away. It fundamentally cannot be tolerated if I’m in order to keep up a fast cohesive workflow in regards to fundamentals like retopology or anything that requires constant micro adjustments of the camera whilst making selections etc.

The issue:

There is a massive disconnect where holding MMB to Orbit, but then pressing SHIFT whilst holding this down doesn’t switch to Pan, it does nothing at all, pressing ALT enables angle snapping, but SHIFT does nothing. You have to actually let go of MMB and then click both it and SHIFT together again at the same time to enter the Pan modes. Likewise, letting go of SHIFT during the MMB Pan doesn’t swap it back to Orbit either, you have to lift off MMB and then click it down again with the SHIFT key.
You press 2 keys to initiate a movement, but letting go of one of them changes nothing. You press one key to start an opposing movement and pressing another one also does nothing to bridge between the two. It’s very dysfunctional and needs to be addressed, and it’s INCREDIBLY simple. Just…don’t make me have to let go of the MMB to swap to the other interaction.

Switching to “Industry Standard” I thought would fix this as Max and Maya both behave correctly and opposite to how I’ve explained Blender works, where keys can simply toggle as you’re doing the movements, but you’ve instead simply put every camera control as an “Alt+Mouse” command, which is stupid because no “Industry Standard” software uses Left Click for anything to do with camera transforms. It seems like this was done because you’re intentionally aware of your limitation with the controls?