Dome/EnvLight instead of world environment

Hello,

I am a VFX artist with experience using Pixar’sRenderman / Arnold / Vray / mentalRay ( back in the day ), and testing a lot of render engine for personal interest.

I want to use blender as my daily driver 3D application for all my personal work, and I can get around a lot of its uniqueness, and actually like most of the UI decision made since 2.8.

But as a lighter with now 10 years experience, I have a really hard time not having a dedicated dome light in Blender.

The issue is not about Cycle, but the fact that there is no Dome/Env light objects at all.

My understanding is that, in Blender, if I want to light a scene using an HDRI ( not matter the render engine used ), the only way is to plug the HDRI in the world slot, and I need to use a math node if I want to expose up or down this HDRI in blender.
Using a world slot to do Image Based Lighting is, IMO, a very old way to approach environment lighting, and this should be addressed in Blender.

All render engines I know are now using dedicated dome/env lights, the world slot for HDRI died with MentalRay and probably a old version of Vray as far I can remember.

To explain why we need Dome Lights in modern lighting workflow, I will give some examples :

1 - Sky is a light :
Environment lighting using an HDRI or a Physical sky should be treated as a light in the UI.
Most renders use a dome light for the exposure and sampling control of this specific HDRI in the dome lights parameters. So its’ hard to create a plugin for blender, if blender ignores the fact that most render engine use dome lights.

2- Multiple dome lights for more control :