[Discarted] GSoC 2022: Introduction and project idea - Script node for Geometry Nodes

EDIT 2: I talked to Hans Goudey and he told me that they’re not planning to make a script node for the time being. That means that this idea will not make to the GSoC. Thank you all for your interaction!

EDIT: Thank you all for the support. I’ll refine and correct some errors in my description so becomes clearer what I’m thinking about. Please read it again if you already have read it.

Introduction

I’m getting started in the Blender development community and intend to participate in this year’s Google Summer of Code.

I’m a Computer Science undergraduate from Brazil and I’ve been using blender since 2014. I already started to explore the codebase and also submitted a patch to this task: T46809

Since I’m still getting to know the codebase and and this community, my idea for a project might be redundant or unfeasible, so any feedback is more than welcome!

Project Idea

Overview:
Create a “Script Node” in Geometry Nodes and implement the necessary interface to enable running Python scripts with data from other nodes.

Node structure:
This node’s initial state would consist in only a field to select a script, similar to the Script Node from Shaders, with no input nor output sockets.
Captura de tela de 2022-04-11 10-31-56

The sockets would appear after a valid Python script is selected. Their names and types would be defined inside the script.

Captura de tela de 2022-04-11 11-17-26

Script structure:
The script should specify what are its expected inputs and what are its outputs. I’m still not sure about how to implement that, maybe I can use class inheritance and reflection.

Either way, the presence of these input and output descriptors would determine if the script is valid for the Script Node or not.

There would be an API that allows manipulating the data received as input. For example, there would be methods to transform geometry, create new vertices, etc.

Example: