Developing surface modelling nurbs single span (bezier)?

I am interested in developing a solution for single span modelling. With my background as freelancer in automotive industry, I am an expert user of Autodesk Alias Surface, which is CAD modelling with bezier surfaces.

I want to make this kind of high quality surface modelling possible for a broad field of designer and 3D-modellers. There is no effortable solution on the market for small and midsize design agencies.

Is blender interested in developping a solution for this purpose? I could support you with valuable insights and UI solutions.

I am looking forward getting in touch with you!

2 Likes

NURBS/Bezier modelling for CAD is not currently a priority for Blender developers. If I understand correctly, you’re not proposing to develop the feature yourself but rather provide the design for it? Then it’s unlikely such a project will get started.

1 Like

I’m sorry to say this, but you shouldn’t buy into Autodesk’s propaganda. Almost every small to midsize design firm use https://www.rhino3d.com/ already… :sweat_smile:

Also, I think this guy, or others in his timeline, is actually doing some work with Nurbs in Blender:

https://twitter.com/portnov9

1 Like

Hi, many thanks for your hint what portnov is doing, that goes in the right direction! I’ ll dig deeper in that.

And yes Rhino is nurbs modelling, I worked a lot with that. But unfortunately it’s not useful for “single span” The programm just fills in a surface but doesn’t give enough possibility to modify the surface in degree and topology.

So there is just Alias and there was ICEM Surf, no updates any more.

1 Like

This is far off-topic now, but there’s Rebuild, RebuildUV, SoftEditSrf (which is very limited, yes), and in V7 you have EdgeContinuity that’s super useful together with MoveUVN.