Blender gpu not found cycles/cuda

Hi,

Im new to blender and als to this forum.
I recently bought a new laptop to develop my skills with 3d animation and blender.
However I can’t select my gpu for rendering. Cuda doesnt show any option and when I render it takes ages because it only uses the CPU. I think there is a compatibility issue with the latest versions of blender. I tried 2.79 and there were no problems.

I bought the Asus ROG GA502IU-AL011T R7-4800H,16/1TB,1660Ti.

I searched the web for a solution and tried all the options (deselect internal gpu, cuda toolkit) Nothing worked and drove me mad.

Is this a commen problem and do I need to wait for a future update? Or does someone know the solution to this problem?

Not sure this is the correct category or forum to go to tho.

Cheers,

Daniël

Which operating system and which GPU?

Which Blender versions did you test? Did you try the latest daily build?

Hi brecht,

Thx for your reply.
Tried the 2.8, 2.82a and 2.83 beta version. I also tried it on windows 10 and latest version of ubuntu.

On both systems it failed unfortunately.

Is it possible that the new amd chipset is conflicting in some way?

Regards,

Daniël

On Windows, try running blender_debug_gpu.cmd in the Blender folder, go to Preferences > System and quit blender. After that there will be log files which you can attach here, they might have more information about this.

Dear brecht,

Unfortunately I returned the laptop because I had to stay within the free return policy and because there are a lot of new developments at laptop suppliers at the moment. I made a log before tho and there it recognised the gpu.
However when rendering it only used the CPU.
In the render settings I couldnt select the GPU.

Eventhough I returned the laptop Im still interested in whats going on because Im looking for a different laptop and dont want the same problems as before. I would alter my choice in specs to meet blender requirments.

Regards,

Daniël