An average user's hurdles with saving a render

I’m a digital artist who’s fluent in lots of different software but I’m only a lightweight Blender user for a few years now.
At this moment I mostly use it to aid my 2D conceptual work.
For this I often have rough renders which I quickly continue working on in Photoshop.

Below I’ll play a bit dumb and give my feedback on both UI and behaviour - things I’m expecting, missing or don’t understand as Mr. Average:

1. Render window doesn’t have a save button. Just this:
    Image List in my blend file: cool
    Name: cool
    Fake User Pin: I don’t care, I’m an average user, what is this?
    (btw icon is greyed out but I can still use it)
    New Image: I just made a render, let me deal with my render please
    Open Image: same^^
    X: Wow, if I hit this I won’t see my render! But thankfully it’s not deleted, pheww.
    Save button: … ah sorry, there’s none. : (

Then sure I have this menu:

First thing I see: Save is greyed out! OMG why? … Let’s calm down. Let the gears rotate in my head: is it impossible to save my image or it’s automatically saved somewhere with some name? Hmm, it’s not in C:\tmp\ because only image sequences end up there. Is it in Data option’s Temporary Files folder? Maybe. I couldn’t (but don’t even want to) find it there
I only know I can’t hit that button. I can “Save As” though. Me and my image are safe now.

Alt+S and Shift+S are weird choices but fine… But when is “Save” accessible at all? (honest question, this is not just a feedback thread)

I just noticed the “Edit Externally” button. Is this a not-yet-finished option where I can assign PS to and with a click my render will open up in there? That would be great, but I can’t find a place in Prefs where I can set it up. I do use something like this in FastStone image viewer and I love it:

1. Why do we have these options in the render window?