What module to look in to understand material nodes/shaders in the render pipeline?

I have a pretty complex material node setup and for reasons beyond the scope of this post I’m interested in being to evaluate the resultant RGB value for arbitrary points in space. My understanding so far is that this is currently impossible because said calculations happen on the GPU and are not ever communicated back into main memory or the CPU. I want to learn more about how this process works and the code behind it. Might help me think of an alternate way to do what I want, or (with extreme luck) I can write a snippet that gets what I need done and build it myself.

I have some small experience writing toy webgl/openglES programs so I kinda know the mess I’m getting into. Blender is a big program though. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I’m not sure where to begin looking.

Correct me if I’m wrong somewhere

Today, for nodes, there are several types of calculations at once:

• Multifunction
  • Field
  • Shader stack (in our context)

Following the logic:

• Multifunction, this is a processor calculation. In metarials (although maybe I misunderstood this), this happens for single values. That is, if there is a set of nodes that can be simplified on the processor, this happens (although it may not)
  • Field (what I think you need the most, but it’s only in the geometry nodes, so you have to rewrite the material to the geometry nodes, and evaluate if it can be done without ray tracing data) it’s like a single value, but calculated for data given from above, not from below.