What is the best approach to improve library overrides?

Been directed here from blender-coders chat: Library overrides work well for animated rigs, but not so well for modifying assets. Want to address this:

As an animator I work regularly on a large city scene (a collection with many nested collections) - which I frequently need to modify to suit each scene. A seemingly simple use case: swinging a door open on one of the buildings in the (nested) scene. (see the reddit link). Current solutions are clunky, fiddly, and proving a drag on production.

However I’m also a former C++ software engineer who has been studying the Blender source with a view to contributing, and looking at several possible solutions. Seek prior advice so I don’t chase it down the wrong rabbit hole.

Possible solutions:

1. Improve the library override code (e.g. to support nesting): Right-Click Select — Blender Community
  2. Improve Geometry Nodes so it can filter instances in collections: Right-Click Select — Blender Community
  3. Do the whole thing using existing Geometry Nodes (basically, if an asset is static, do it as a Collection to instance. If it is dynamic, do it as a single-point mesh with a Geometry Node). However Geometry Nodes graph’s aren’t ideal for positioning elements in a scene, so instead do an Addon which lets you convert an otherwise static collection into a Geometry Nodes Asset (A single-point mesh with a GN attached), and then you can modify the GN to your hearts content.