Using bpy (Blender as a python module) as an easily downloadable python package

Hi there!

I’m new to this form but I’ve been around the Blender Stack Exchange and have experience with add-on development.

I have successfully converted Blender 3.2 into a python module on Windows 10 and can import it into my Python 3.10 scripts and run bpy commands.

I’ve posted a more detailed version of my setup on the Blender stack exchange: scripting - How to convert Blender as a Python module into an easily downloadable package? - Blender Stack Exchange

My question is; How do I create a downloadable package like Python’s requests module? (it doesn’t have to be on pypi, just downloadable from a git repo)

My goal is to deploy this bpy module to a Windows server running docker with a Django Rest_Framework API. I want to be able to tell DockerFile: Download bpy3.2 at this GitHub link when deployed or possibly add it to a requirements.txt file. What I don’t understand is how the file structure of the folders above will affect the download and implementation into python310. Would it be easier to just use a Virtual Env and copy it to the container somehow?

Any help would be appreciated, thank you for your time!

1 Like

I believe there are other more python oriented forms that can handle the how. There might be a dev with experience how to set it up here.

The blender as py module isn’t cross platform when using inside docker you might want to compile it in Linux against the libs of the docker container you’re using. After that if your idea is to upload the binaries to a git repro would perhaps explode in size.

What I have done for blender101 is to build the python module inside a docker container and push the created docker image to a docker repro.

In the later you can just base your docker file from the pushed image. Using requirements.txt might be a lot of work and management issues need to be overcome.

You could

• build bpy with portable option ON,