Quick and dirty python script to apply "use_endpoint_u = True" to all splines?

I’m not a programmer but I wonder if it is possible to write a command or script that will allow me to apply this to all my splines. The workflow is impossibly awkward to select each spline and check the box and none of the usual tricks like apply to selected work.

In my non-programmer mind “bpy.context.object.data.splines[allofthemplease].use_endpoint_u = True” would be it but…

This should work in the Python Console:

for spline in bpy.context.active_object.data.splines: spline.use_endpoint_u = True

Or if you want to do that to all selected curve objects, you can run this from the Text Editor:

import bpy
for ob in bpy.context.selected_editable_objects:
    if ob.type != "CURVE":
        continue
    for spline in ob.data.splines:
        spline.use_endpoint_u = True
3 Likes

Wow. It’s like magic. Maybe I should take the time to learn some Python. Or just turn up here and poach some more code.

I don’t think it’s an accident that your name sounds a bit like a superhero moniker. I dropped the command into my pie menu and it works fabulously.

1 Like

Okay, I have a more annoying case here, let’s see if anyone can do it.

I want to use the property for order_U on a pie menu, so I can tap it up and down for all splines.

The command for one spline is C.object.data.splines[16].order_u

So I’m guessing you can’t just for loop that?

I tried to create an increment button:

for spline in bpy.context.active_object.data.splines: spline.order_u = spline.order_u + 1

…it doesn’t work, surprising no one.

Maybe it’s just syntax? It works for me.

import bpy
try:
    for spl in bpy.context.active_object.data.splines:
        spline.order_u += 1
except:
    print ("select a curve")

is a little bit better

Ah. When I tested it I forgot that it only goes to 3. It works as a pair of buttons for me but making it a property is no good, right?

That is what the C. statement does?