Onboarding & Modules report

Hi,
Last week I interviewed module owners about the current onboarding process, their modules, documentation and see where help is needed. I summarized the results and suggested some possible improvements in the wiki: User:ThomasDinges/OnboardingModulesReport - Blender Developer Wiki

Feedback is welcome.

Thomas

13 Likes

Hello Thomas.
Thanks for the report.

Since you are asking for feedback:

On blender.chat (blender-coders) it is difficult for a beginner. You don’t dare. Or don’t ask any more questions after receiving a sobering answer from a professional.

I would like a place for complete beginners: Noob To Blender Contributor

Or so :slight_smile: The following subject can be discussed and learned with one another here:
With which operating system can I get the thing to run with which program and which settings?

I am convinced that if these people can exchange ideas here, that they will jointly develop knowledge
from which they can create documentation.

Everyone who comes across blender in six months will find people, pictures, texts and videos that will help them quickly find what they want to know so that they can start developing blender.

With kind regards
Roger

4 Likes

Hi Roger,
thanks for your feedback!

We welcome all developers and contributors in our channels, no matter the level of experience. In #blender-builds you can get help setting up a compile environment and build Blender from source, an important first step. For general development questions, we have #blender-coders and for specific modules and areas, there are rooms too.

If you feel a new room is needed, everyone is welcome to start a new channel on blender.chat. But I don’t think it makes sense to scatter things around even more. Even in a room for beginners, you want experienced users and developers to answer questions. So another room is one more to keep an eye on. :slight_smile:

Best regards,
Thomas

3 Likes