New Developer: adding ProRes support

I’m new to Blender development and thought I’d say Hi, so Hi!

I’m currently working on a little bugbear of mine: to get ProRes support for my renders.

I have currently got ProRes 422 and 4444 with transparency tentatively working however it is limited to 8-bit depth due to limitations with the rendering module currently.

I wonder if anyone knows a good place to start with regards to supporting higher bit-depths?

Best regards
David.

9 Likes

There’s an issue about higher bit depth here:

This is a good chat channel to discuss things:
https://blender.chat/channel/sequencer-module

Thanks for the pointers. I’ll be sure to check them out later.

Quick update on my ProRes support modification.

Per the above issue, Blender currently passes a frame of RGBA 32-bit pixels from the byte buffer to ffmpeg, which handles the heavy lifting of encoding the video. This means video codecs are currently limited to a maximum 8-bits per channel.

Most video codecs do not accept data in RGB format as they are usually designed to work with YUV (or technically YCbCr) component data. In order to satisfy this requirement, Blender uses libswscale (ffmpeg’s software scaler) to do the colour format conversion from Blender’s internal format (RGBA32) to whichever format the select codec prefers.

In order to support higher than 8-bit per channel codecs, we need to use the float buffer as the pixel source. Unfortunately, libswscale will not translate from pixels in packed 32-bit float RGBA format (at least I couldn’t get it to work). There does appear to be support for planar 32-bit float and packed 16-bit half-float formats, however.

So the scheme I am currently using is:

• Allocate an RGBA64 picture frame and context for conversion
  • Downsample the floating point pixel buffer to packed RGBA64 16-bit per channel pixels in the picture frame.
  • Use libswscale to convert from RGBA64 to the required destination (e.g. YUVA4444P10)