New color map / dithering compositor node

I’ve used ImageMagick in the past and it had that useful color remap function that map a full 24 bit image to a 256 colors picture. So I’ve made a compositor node that does exactly that:

Currently, I’m using the FloydSteinberg algorithm and I’ve put an adjustable threshold parameter. The palette is from an image you open using the node i.e. I’ve copied the code of the ImageNode to load an image.

Can you give feedback on how I should improve or what I should add?
I’m also kind of new to the code versioning system that blender uses, is it similar to github?

13 Likes

https://developer.blender.org/D9444

Right now, only FloydSteinberg dithering is implemented. The threshold percentage is configurable using a slider. In the future, positioned dithering might be worth implementing, and letting the user choose the dithering method using a combox box.

EDIT - I have a nasty assert when moving the node

/* This function should be removed whenever #ui_layout_replace_but_ptr is removed. */
void ui_button_group_replace_but_ptr(uiBlock *block, const void *old_but_ptr, uiBut *new_but)
{
  LISTBASE_FOREACH (uiButtonGroup *, button_group, &block->button_groups) {
    LISTBASE_FOREACH (LinkData *, link, &button_group->buttons) {
      if (link->data == old_but_ptr) {
        link->data = new_but;
        return;
      }
    }
  }

/* The button should be in a group. */
  BLI_assert(false);
}

EDIT - ok, it does that on any node, debug is broken in latest version…

Hi,
first I want to say that it is nice to see in the diff what actually goes into creating a new node. Kind of a minimal example on how to get a node working…

I think the function itself is nice to have, my only point would be the name:
Saw its named ‘color map’ in ImageMagick, but that is a too unspecific name for what it does - don’t you think?
Maybe something more along the lines of ‘Color Dithering’?