How to move objects inside a collection to random locations

I’m new to Blender ,

I’ve created a Donut by following blender Guru’s youtube tutorial , I want to put that Donut in random locations

My Donut is a collection of objects(Donut,Icing)

I’ve used this code to move the collection , but the problem is , the donut and the icing are moving separately in random locations

My code is

import bpy
from random import randint

col = bpy.data.collections.get("donut")
if col:
   for ob in col.objects:
       ob.select_set(True)
       frame_number = 0
       for i in range(0,100):
           x = randint(-20,20)
           y = randint(-20,20)
           z = randint(-20,20)
           bpy.context.scene.frame_set(frame_number)
           ob.location = (x,y,z)
           ob.keyframe_insert(data_path = "location",index = -1)
           frame_number += 5

Someone please give pointers or suggestions on how to do it please

because x,y,z are randints and are different for both icing and donut? https://docs.python.org/3/library/random.html#random.randint

you need to set a seed for one loop. https://docs.python.org/3/library/random.html#random.seed
tip: that seed can be random, as long as it remains the same for that loop. reset it in next iteration.

1 Like

Thank you bro ,seems like that’s a good idea , will try it :slight_smile:

You could also simply create a collection instance of the Donut collection and rework your script to animate that instance. Not only would this be simpler to code, it also gave you the freedom to continue working on the Donut model without messing with the animation at all.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply bro , seems like a very good alternative idea , will try this one too , and I think this one will be the best as it will be simpler to code and the freedom to continue working on the model without disturbing the animation :slight_smile:

@ankitm I dont know what mistake I am doing , tried with seed in random , its not working :frowning: