Help a Translator with Gitea

I need help with this new Gitea… thing.
I’m not a developer (big surprise), but I contribute translations. Unfortunately any and all related instructions, guides, manuals that I can find are specifically for developers and they leave a simple mortal more confused than before.
When I joined a year ago, I wrecked my head over what SVN repositories were and how to work with them, for the same reason. Somehow, after days of frustration I figured it out. Please don’t make me go through the same thing again. Somebody, please! explain in layman terms what I should do, step by step, in order to keep committing changes to the necessary language file. Please.

1 Like

You need to use a different password, and possibly different username (if it changed on projects.blender.org).

The instructions for how to generate a new password are here:
https://wiki.blender.org/wiki/Tools/Subversion#Commit_Access

3 Likes

Edit: Nope. That wasn’t it.

2 Likes

It took me months to realize that commits were not actually working.
Seriously, I’m exhausted. I kept stealing free time minute by minute, taking time off my own work to go to a library, burying myself with professional documentations and dictionaries of specific terminology, creating the terminology that doesn’t exist in my language from the scratch, and I’ve been doing it alone. I managed to take it from Starting to In Progress but I just need help with a few lines or a few paragraphs of text to save me a bit of time and energy. Is there a Gitea for Blender contributions step-by-step instruction for non-developers anywhere? Or is it withheld on purpose to keep off people like me? 'Cause let me tell you, that’s an effective strategy.

I didn’t see your previous reply since it was an edit, which does not send notifications.