Greetings, my name is Cal and I'm here to help.

I’m a retired software engineer/developer (depending on who was paying my salary), and am currently addicted to Blender.

Recently, I posted a thread to blenderartists.org called “Blender Memory Management” where, basically, I said “I can do that!”

@claus said that I should go “git” the code and take a look.

So, here I am.

I realize that optimizing memory managment and garbage collection in an existing app is a daunting task.

Let me know if I’m stupid.

I will be looking at it from a Windows point of view.

Hope I can help,
Cal

PS - The cause of all this:

10 Likes

Hi. Just to be sure, take into account the undo system. Your first post on http://blenderartists.org seems related to that topic. There one thing that you may looking for Undo: support implicit-sharing in memfile undo step .

1 Like

OK, thanks. I’ll keep it in mind.

What I saw seemed like an unusually high jump in RAM for such a minor change. I’ve been through this exercise many times, so have some experience with it. We’ll see if I find anything…

Hi. I’m new. I did a ‘git’ of the code yesterday and have been reading and searching, mostly about memory management.

(A few other things caught my eye and distracted me from my quest, but it’s been fun.)

So…
It appears that guardedalloc and vulkan_memory_allocator are handling most of the heap memory. Is that correct?

And, (I wish I could think of a way to figure this out so I won’t seem stupid) when Blender runs, who’s in charge? Python or C/C++?

Thanks for your time, I’ll try not to be a pest.

Cal

1 Like

It appears that guardedalloc and vulkan_memory_allocator are handling most of the heap memory. Is that correct?

Partially, guardedalloc is, the vulkan backend is off by default since it’s still under heavy development so that bit of code is disabled by default, even when enabled it would only manage the memory related to the vulkan graphics stack.