Getting around invalidation of objects after user preforms an undo

Hey everyone,

I’m fairly new to the Blender API so forgive me if I am missing something obvious.
My problem is like so: I have multiple objects that I want to reference in code for later.

As an example, say I want to make a list that stores every selected object so I’ll create a list using
my list = bpy.context.selected_objects

This usually works fine up until Undo causes invalidation.

obj_invalid

The only solution I can think of right now is to find the objects again through their names using a for loop and bpy.data.objects.get("Suzanne") but this is less than ideal.
What if the user changes the name?
Sadly, this makes using this option unusable for the addon I want to create.

My question is: what is the best / most correct way of handling a situation like this?

Thanks!!

There’s not a whole lot you can do unfortunately. I wish there were more events we could subscribe to in python but there aren’t, and there is no event callback for undo/redo. The best you could do is subscribe to depsgraph update and manually check if something has changed.

1 Like

Oh I see. That’s really unfortunate! :frowning:

One way to track objects across undo is to tag them using their custom property (ID property).

This example sets a simple hash on the selected objects using set_hash() and a string as the hash key.
To retrieve the objects, you can use objs_from_hash() and supply the same key. It doesn’t have to be a hash, it could be any value as long as it’s unique enough to not collide, but also easily retrievable.

import bpy

def set_hash(prop, key):
    for o in bpy.context.selected_objects:
        o[prop] = float(hash(key))

def objs_from_hash(prop, key):
    objects = bpy.data.objects
    val = float(hash(key))
    return [o for o in objects if prop in o and o[prop] == val]

prop = "my_addon"
key = "some_seed"

if __name__ == "__main__":
# toggle between these

#    set_hash(prop, key)