Expression-evaluation function node

I desperately need a geometry node that can evaluate math expressions in text form, otherwise some of my node graphs are becoming unreadable, I saw others were requiring this feature too, but as I can’t wait, I implemented it to my own taste, in this post I’ve attached some screenshots:

// sorry I can’t embed image here as my account is newly created.

But I’m new to blender development policy, so I am unsure if it’s okay to just send a pull request, or if further discussion is needed somewhere.

4 Likes

You need, no, you have to improve your skills in node editor and fix this issue yourself. It’s definitely possible to create readable node trees. Expression node is not solution, just another one hole.

Sorry I can’t agree, as a pro Houdini user, I can fluently write all kinds of algorithms in node graphs, even relatively complex ones like dancing link and wave function collapse. And I’m sure that for heavy math work, using textual math expressions is just a lot easier to read and maintain.

7 Likes

Can not agree at this, quality of code, how hard or simple to maintain this, is property that is no depend on form of the code, is this is block shem or blue prints or text.

After some read it seems this implementation contains some extra dependencies and do not support arbitrary number of arguments, better to switch yourself on this one: #115112 - WIP: Add a math expression geometry node - blender - Blender Projects

While it would be great to have, it’s not exactly a dealbreaker as longform expressions with nodes can be collapsed into node groups (=subnetworks) with arbitrary number of inputs.

#115112 - WIP: Add a math expression geometry node - blender - Blender Projects

Oh thanks for this information, that’s what I’m here to discuss - how to design the node and the expression language.