Easiest way to build different branches of Blender

Hi there,

I’m not a coder at all, but building Blender on Linux and Windows is so easy that I usually compile it, before I start Blender :wink:

Now if I want to give the very latest Cycles-X branch a try without having to wait for the Buildbot doing its magic, I usually do this:

• Switch branch with “git checkout cycles-x”
  • make update
  • make full

Then I copy the contents of the “/build_linux_full/bin” folder to another folder and switch back to master with

• git checkout master

This works but apart from the manual work, the builds take quite a while because they’re built from scratch and all the CUDA kernels etc. have to be rebuilt.

There has to be an easier way. I already found that using the “BUILD_DIR=/folder_to_build_blender” command line option for make kind of helps me avoid to build everything into the same folder, but maybe there is a much easier and cleaner way of doing this.

Thanks.

1 Like

Hi,
You can pass the builddir to make. (Tested on Windows at least):

make builddir cycles-x

Then it builds inside a folder called cycles-x instead of the default (e.g. build_windows_x64_vc16_Release).

So instead of typing make full, you type make builddir master or make builddir cycles-x and voila. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

OK, thanks for this info.

I guess I will have to manually switch to the Cycles-X branch with the “git checkout cycles-x” command, right?

So using “make builddir cycles-x” is basically the short version of “make full BUILD_DIR=~/blender-git/build_cycles-x” ?

Yes, you still have to switch to the branch or master.

It’s not necessarily doing a full build. If the folder you pass is already there and you built before to it, it will do a partial (and quicker) rebuild.

3 Likes

A, nice to know. Thanks :ok_hand:

OK, I just checked it on Linux and it looks like this is a Windows-only feature:

make builddir cycles-x
make: *** No rule to make target 'builddir'.  Stop.