Deaf, and Trying to Learn Blender. I really need better written documentation and tutorials

I’ve been trying to learn Blender lately, but there are several things that limit my ability to make this an effective process:

• I work as a Machinist
  • I work 5 days a week
  • I’m burned out
  • I’m in my late 30’s
  • I’m Deaf

I used to be a prolific illustrator with Clip Studio Paint, but with financial realities in America screwing me over, I’m in this position where I have to work as a machinist babysitting CNC Mills for a greedy billionaire who won’t even give his workers more PTO than the state minimum.

But I’m sure everything will work out just fine. Right?

Anyway, if you were paying attention, you probably noticed that last bullet point: I’m Deaf. So, getting to the point, video tutorials aren’t very good for me. Even with captions.

I have to keep looking between three different things as the video plays: Blender, the Video, and the Captions, as I go along to try to follow what the video is showing me. So I have to look at Blender to try to replicate what’s being done, and while I’m doing that, I’ve missed thirty seconds of dialogue and demonstrative footage.

These tutorial videos are great for when you have working ears. You can hear the presenter mentioning hotkeys without needing to look at the video.

No, what I need, for the limited amount of time I have every week (and weekend), is written documentation that works well. When I’m babysitting the CNC Mill at work, I have anywhere between three to fifteen minutes of downtime waiting for the machine to finish the part. This is a good time for me to flip open my phone and read through a written tutorial so I can internalize the information before I try to practice it in Blender when I go home and set aside an hour to fiddle with it before I go to bed.

As opposed to…trying to follow along a nearly two-hour-long video? Yeah nah, written tutorials please.