Cloud based video editor ...can Blender do this?

Version:1.0 StartHTML:0000000168 EndHTML:0000001585 StartFragment:0000000438 EndFragment:0000001568

Not sure if this is the appropriate place to ask this …if not please feel free to point me to the appropriate place.

I am looking to develop a cloud based video editor. Users will be able to do basic video editing via computer, tablet or smart phone.

I think the first thing I need to know is whether Blender currently has the capability to do this. I am not a programmer myself so would be hiring coders. If I understand things correctly then some sort of Blender API to allow HTML based interaction with Blender operating on a remote server is required. Not being a programmer I haven’t been able to determine if this is available.

Having looked at the Python scripting capability of Blender it looks like it should be able handle the basics of the actual editing (which will be fairly simple).

Any feedback about this is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Steve

1 Like

Blender’s nuclear weapon is Python that has grown to the 3rd most popular language (according to TIOBE INDEX, used to be 10th around the time it was introduced in Blender ) and of course C sitting at 2nd place . So overall you are already have a deadly combo to do whatever you want. This is important because Python has a very strong presence on the web front and because how powerful Python is.

https://www.tiobe.com/tiobe-index/

Blend4Web is an example of Blender taken to the server side (cloud does not exist technology wise, its just a fancy term) so there is nothing stopping you from implementing your video editor because python dominates , together with Javascript, the web dev world with C doing the heavy lifting as always. Of course making a front end can be a bit tricky.