Build pyopenvdb as part of make deps

Patch D8123 aims to enable building of pyopenvdb with make deps. I created this thread for discussion about the implementation.

This is a first step towards integration of pyopenvdb into Blender, see design task T73201. Aim is to be able to import pyopenvdb in Blender Python Console. This does not include ability to modify Blender OpenVDB grids, only to have access to out-of-box pyopenvdb.

Info about pyopenvdb: https://www.openvdb.org/documentation/doxygen/python.html

More info in D8123.

1 Like

Hi @LazyDodo, regarding your comment https://developer.blender.org/D8123#198025 while waiting comments from @brecht:

• Splitting the Boost python build change from OpenVDB build change sounds good idea, I can split the patch this week. Also, I’ll try to add that python lib jam entry and see if it works.
  • I wonder if switching to dynamic build of OpenVDB requires more than -DOPENVDB_CORE_SHARED=ON …? Well, I’ll try and see, although I’m no expert here…

It does require a bit more, but not all that much, it’s pretty much update the builder to build dynamically and resolve any issues building/deploying blender (generally some small cmake changes on the blender side), don’t worry about it for windows, i’ll take care of it.

as for boost python i have found a nicer way to make the bjam user config file, if you don’t mind, i’ll take the initial stab at boost, since i think most of it will carry over nicely to the other platforms (while yours doesn’t necessarily transfer over to windows all that nicely)

@LazyDodo OK you go ahead with a new Boost patch.

From @brecht’s comments I get the feeling that moving to shared libs on unix side is not straightforward, so I’m not sure how to continue now.

What is it that you want to achieve exactly?

If it’s just to have the option to build pyopenvdb yourself and use it, then linking everything statically into the Python module will work fine.