Blender User Interface Redesign

Hi,

I’m new to the project, and I came into blender with a mindset of change. I wanted to know how feasible it is to accommodate a UI redesign as shown in this video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWacQrEcMHk). Yes this is an older video, but the underlying points made still remain. I wanted to know how modular, and decoupled the UI is from the functional components. Could a redesign of the UI be done, and if so, how difficult/timely would it be. Is it something one person could tackle, or would it be a large enough effort that multiple contributors would need to tackle. I’m new to C/C++, and I’m not sure how tricky these ideas would be to implement. Has this kind of discussion taken place before, and if so, can someone link me to where that discussion might be?

As another point I wanted to bring up or talk about, if the previous idea isn’t feasible at the current state, or at all, what challenges would there be to make a tutorial panel, or maybe even a tutorial modal popup? I’ve only had a relatively small look at the UI code, (New to C) and I’m curious how achievable it could be to provide user guides to new users considering Blender is a very powerful and complex software. There are hundreds of shortcuts, and “hidden” features. The most common thing I’ve heard about other people when they are starting is how tricky navigation can be when you’re starting. As an example, maybe navigation information can be shown in a “tutorial” panel, along with other popularly troublesome features to understand.

I appreciate any thoughts and suggestions. I apologize in advance if any of this comes off as naive. I know often large projects like this are difficult to shift so abruptly, but as shown in the video, it seems there is a bottleneck in the project for new features due to UI/UX related challenges.

Thanks,