Adding a new ID Type to Blender

I don’t know if this post belongs to this forum, but I am new to Blender development and I want to add a new ID to Blenders library. Can anybody tell me how to do this safely?
I tried it looking at the vfont implementation, but currently I am getting a SIGABRT error / stack smashing detected, and I do not know where this comes from. (Sorry, I am not a professional developer)

Any suggestions? I am thankful for every help I can get!

Kind Regards

Adding a new ID types requires changes in dozens of files. There doesn’t exist a guide for it, you should find the most similar existing ID type and search for it throughout the code, adding your ID type in all the same places.

To get an idea of the kinds of changes needed, this commit adds a volume datablock type:
https://developer.blender.org/rB74f7cdcf6bb8032b6bf8881007e0344366849859

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response!
I will have a look at it. Even when searching throughout the code it is sometimes pretty difficult, because you might have to add it to another enum or list or so. So your commit might be very useful and educational, thanks a lot!

Sorry if that sounds lazy or so, but do you maybe have a commit that shows how to add operators for loading a new ID type via the template_ID ?

I don’t know of a specific commit that shows this, I would just start from existing operators for a similar ID type.

It is quite easy.

First of all, you have to define your function uiTemplateNewIDType in the space editor your type will be edited. Usually this function is declared in blender\source\blender\editors\include\UI_interface.h and defined in the file editor_buttons.c. I would suggest to check uiTemplateMovieClip in clip_buttons.c as it is quite compact and easy to understand.

After that, you have to define the function in the RNA. This is done in blender\source\blender\makesrna\intern\rna_ui_api.c in the function RNA_api_ui_layout. For instance, for the movie clip the code is: