Sparkle to update Blender

I haven’t found a topic in this forum so I am just writing out of curiosity.

Has blender developers considered using Sparkle framework on macOS to allow users to update between minor versions? I started learning/using blender and I try to keep up with patch updates. And with every patch update I found going to website and downloading (e.g. 3.2.0 → 3.2.1) image and copying it slightly annoying. I understand and appreciate the work that goes into them, however there is space in making update process to end-users smoother and more pleasant. I also understand that my audacious lazyness can offend someone so I apologize for that upfront.

A lot of macOS applications that are not distributed through Mac App Store use Sparkle to allow users update their apps without going to the website and downloading archives or disc images.

I also understand that this might be very low on priority list and due to resource constraints is not being tackled. If so — I’d love to take a stab at it.

Couple of issues with this

1. It still won’t be as smooth given our Privacy and Internet access-rule that says blender can’t connect to the internet without explicit permission, so this will need to be behind a switch in preferences at the least.

2. Sparkle appears to be mac only, if an auto update mechanism would be considered inside blender it will have to service all the platforms we ship (ie Linux/Mac/Windows)

3. This need is currently serviced through the various app stores (ie steam, the ms store, snap and flatpack) and various 3rd party solutions like blender launcher, investing resources to support yet one more option here feels like resources better spend elsewhere.

2 Likes

Thank you for thorough answer. Looking at #3 — most of the solutions seem to be for Linux and Windows platforms.