Qt/PySide2/PyQt windows freezes all Blender windows when I try to move Blender's main Window

Continuing my dive into Blender, I’ve been trying to get PySide2 working for a few days now and I’m very close (I think).

Thanks to the great examples provided here and here I’ve gotten a PySide2 GUI up and running while maintaining interactivity with Blender. The issue now is that when I grab Blender’s title bar and try to move it around the whole program locks up (both the Qt and Blender windows).

Not sure if this helps: When Blender locks up I can’t close it, but I can still minimize it and unminimize it, and the title bar still responds to mouse hovers. Also there aren’t any errors that I can see.

I’m not very experienced with Blender’s systems or queues/threading yet, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hard to say given this is pretty far off the supported path, i’d probably run it in the debugger and see what the main thread is up to.

1 Like

Didn’t think about attaching it to a debugger. I’ll research how to do that, thanks.

Hi, @borbs727 @LazyDodo
I am trying to make a GUI window using python API in Blender. I have tried kivy, PyQt, PySide2, whenever my code execute ones, the GUI window appears according to my program but it completely freezes the blender. I can only minimize and maximize it. And as soon as I close the GUI window, the blender gets crash. I am unable to solve the problem.
I have tried following programs with these GUI tools:

First program with kivy :
###########################################
import kivy
from kivy.app import App
from kivy.uix.label import Label

class MyApp(App):
    def build(self):
        return Label(text = "Oh hello")

if __name__ == '__main__':
    MyApp()

Second program with PyQt:
from PyQt5 import QtWidgets
from PyQt5.QtWidgets import QApplication, QMainWindow, QLabel
import sys

def main():
    app = QApplication(sys.argv)
    win = QMainWindow()
    win.setGeometry(200,200,300,300)