Property connect context menu chopped off

Hello,

I am new to Blender but have 30 years of experience in 3D.

I am experiencing a limitation in the Blender UI. It concerns the context menu available when I click the colored dot to make or break a connection in the Property Editor. I don’t know what that colored dot is called and could not find any reference to it in the documentation.

The context menu pops up to give the user options for connecting nodes of the appropriate data type. The context menu also has items to Remove or Disconnect the node attached to the current Property socket.

The problem is that the context menu is constrained by the size of the window. Most of the time I do not see all of the items in the context menu. The critical Remove and Disconnect items are usually not visible. This led me to falsely believe that these items did not consistently exist.

This is not usually a problem when the Property panel is docked as an Area in the main Blender window. But if the Property panel is in a floating window, it’s a big problem.

There is a reason why I need the Property panel to be in a floating window. The viewport layout navigation in Blender is very unorthodox. The Quad View is extremely limited and doesn’t allow basic functions such as viewing a User Perspective and a Camera view at the same time, or different display modes in different views. There’s no way to maximize an arbitrary view, e.g. I want to hover the mouse over the Top view and then maximize it. It just can’t be done.

My solution to the viewport layout problems was to create four different Areas, each with its own 3D view. I can then maximize an arbitrary 3D view with CTRL+SPACEBAR. But if I do that, the Area under the mouse cursor takes over the entire Blender window, including things I need to see, such as the Property panel.