New to Blender

Hello everyone,

im new to Blender, but im really excited to get startet.
For the longest time i’ve been a hobby 3D Artist, former Art Student and now an IT-System Administrator (kinda happend with no background in it) and im just getting startet with Blender - as an Artist.

I Choose Blender because of its open license and community, so my ultimate goal is to be able to help develop blender in the right direction and share the progress with everyone.

After searching the forum for a beginner topic i already found a beginner guide for developing in blender (https://gumroad.com/l/ecycle/kn67150) . Im confident in getting the Artistic Side of things going but since i’ve never had anything to do with coding or scripting im feeling a little bit “scared” by comments like this:

The problem with VR within blender sofar has always been licensing, the GPL and many of the VR sdk’s just aren’t compatible. with OpenXR coming this will hopefully change in the near future

I know i should learn python, C and C++ to work on blender, but i guess im lacking the developer mindset and background to even beginn. So what comes first? Should i be able to know what you are talking about first, or just get startet? Any good monthly magazines or blogs to follow?

Btw, im 29 and from Germany

4 Likes

Hello and welcome!

There are many ways you can contribute to Blender. Development — blender.org gives you a good overview.

I personally think it’s better to start by learning Python in general and then maybe create an add-on or do a similar task in Python, e.g. update an outdated add-on to 2.8.
Python is much easier to learn than C/C++, and by making an add-on, you will learn the basics of coding in Blender, e.g. what is an operator, what’s the relationship between an object, its material and the viewport for example (from Python point of view) and so on.