Navigation Gizmo for Node Editors

After watching the “Beginning developer workshop” at bcon22, I thought working on adding the navigation gizmo from other 2D editors to the Node Editors would be a task I could tackle. Disclaimer, I am not a programmer and know next to nothing about C/C++, and go on primarily by a lot of grep’ing and extrapolation. Big ups to @Fweeb and @gfxcoder for helping me get past some initial hurdles after their presentation, and for being amazing people in general!

I’ve come as far as adding the “Show Gizmo” toggle button to the Node Editors headers, but I am having trouble adding the actual Pan and Zoom buttons and functionality to the editors. Going by the other editors, fx. the Image Editor, I’m guessing this is in ‘source/blender/editors/space_image/image_ops.c’? What I am stuck at now, is that the code under ‘source/blender/editors/space_node/’ is C++ I think, so I can’t just take and adapt the code from the other editors unfortunately. Can you recommend me to look somewhere I can extrapolate from, or does this require deeper knowledge of C++ to code it from scratch?

To feel not like a total failed attempt, I’ve added the “Show Gizmo” toggle to the Movie Clip Editor where it was missing even though the pan/zoom controls are there. The patch is here:
https://developer.blender.org/D16437

I’d just really like to finish what I had set out to do, and add this functionality to the Node Editors. Any guidance would be much appreciated! I can post the diff of what I’ve done so far if that helps?

1 Like

Maybe this similar patch might help you…
https://developer.blender.org/D14532

LOL serves me right for not searching for this beforehand, of course someone else thought of this. Should be obvious since this functionality really does seem like “low hanging fruit” for consistency. Thanks for pointing it out to me.