Metallic_Sep Node, modifying it

Question. Is it possible to change a Graphics Node type?

For instance, in the newest build of 3.3, the metallic_sep (separater) node is changed from ‘image’ to ‘color’ which ruins the model exports (for me) on exporting in glTF-2 with PBR exports and graphics designed in Substance Painter.

Is it possible… to change that handling from ‘color’ back to ‘image’ in Blender 3.3 Alpha? I am new to manually editing graphics Nodes. I do not even see where you find ‘metalllic_sep’ node in the Shift-A listing, only that I have in the past used this for a long time now, and in 3.3 its changed and ruins the materials on export. Is there a way, possibly to change/modify a Node? Can you go into some sort of Node Editor system and change that?

I had to ask. I want badly to build my scenes in 3.3 and right now, this is preventing it.

Bill
LHC

Uh? You’re using a renamed separate RGB node, simply.

And it has always accepted a RGB input (yellow dot). Thing here is that more often than not, placing nodes in between the image texture and the corresponding shader node will obfuscate the image to the exporter. Dunno if the gltf exporter has some kind of setup here that allowed certain exceptions. If that’s the case, the exporter addon will need to be updated.

But again, there has never been an image input. Has always been either rgb, float or vector.

The way I see it, it was a misnaming having “Image” there when it had always been a color input. You’ll have to contact the addon exporter dev to make sure he reflects this change.

1 Like

Hello @nanoSpawn,

In Blender 3.1 and 3.2, that node always had ‘image’ as its input in ‘metallic_sep’ node, and in Blender 3.3, it changed to ‘color’ and also changed to a red colored node, if that means anything. Again, I know nothing about nodes in graphics and materials. My thing is polygons and painting them, mapping them. I seem to be alone right now as I am like the only one wanting to run in Blender 3.3.