Blender 2.8 as new user

Hi everyone, I’m an indie developer.
I was considering switching to blender for a bit, but it looked a bit unapproachable to me, I installed it a month ago and tried it out, I liked it, although the learning curve seemed bit steep (I worked with Cinema 4d, 3ds max and Maya) and since I’m working on a game and don’t have too much time to watch tutorials, I thought I’d stick with Maya for the time being.

Yesterday I saw the announcement for Blender 2.8, installed the new version, and I’ve watched just 2 videos, 1 the announcement, and “Blender 2.8 overview” from CG Masters.

Today I opened Blender 2.8 and I felt at home, I feel like I can use it straight away without lengthy tutorials that are gonna detract from my development time.
I was able to know with very little trial and error where things are and how they work, I was able to 3d model a simple object , do some very basic UV unwrap, add a modifier to subdivide it and sculpt on it, all of this in just a few minutes.
I think this was the fastest I have learnt the basics of a 3d software.

I did have trouble understanding how UV relaxing works, so all I was able to do was to add seams and unwrap, I wasn’t able to create a skeleton, except adding a single bone to the viewport.
Those were the things that weren’t very intuitive and I might need to check out a tutorial on those.

As of today Blender will be my main 3d modeling tool.

I want to thank the developers for the wonderful work of making this version so intuitive to use, I think you’re moving in the right direction and I’m very surprised how you managed to transform a slightly scary software to something that is a pleasure to use as a new user. I will try to provide more feedback as I learn the software

6 Likes

I posted an answer but brecht removed so I will rephase it.

@DoubleP90