Adding tilt and rotation support in sculpt mode

I’ve been using Blender for many years, but am brand new to Blender development. I do software development for a living and am somewhat familiar with Python and C/C++.

Sculpt mode supports drawing tablet pen pressure already and I want to add support for pen tilt and barrel rotation that is available in Wacom Intuos 4+ and newer Cintiq devices. I understand that the underlying driver code is already there in Blender (see this), so I’m hoping it’s a simple matter of hooking it up, following the way pressure is implemented. I was thinking of adding another couple of buttons for tilt and rotation everywhere the pressure button is found (brush radius, strength, autosmooth, spacing, jitter). Eventually, it would be awesome to have pen rotation control brush rotation, but I need to start small.

Is anyone familiar with this area of the code who can give me some pointers or advice, or even join forces with me?

Is this something that is already planned? Do others want this feature? Any ideas for a better UI implementation?

1 Like

There’s no current plans for this, no one working on it as far as I know.

Most of the painting and sculpting code is in source/blender/editors/sculpt_paint. I would look for pressure there and see how it is integrated.

The first thing would be to list some practical examples of how you would use tilt in practice, and see how it fits into the bigger system then.

It’s not clear to me adding a tilt option in all the same places as pressure makes sense unless it’s just another way to specify pressure? I would more expect it to be something to control the rotation of a brush texture for example.

You may want to examine the sculpt-mode-features branch and talk with the coder behind it, just in case he already has something in mind.

Good plan. Some useful use cases would be using pressure for brush strength, tilt for radius, and rotation to rotate the brush texture.

1 Like