3D semantics

Hi all :slight_smile:

Old blender user, i’m quite new here :wink:
I recently switched from 2.79 to 2.9 and noticed some 3D view inconsistencies.

The 1st one is very simple and is about the 3D view option: ‘flat’

The word is confusing as it don’t show the 3D view in flat shading but in unlit color shading.

I’ll come back later with the 3D view modes inconsistencies ( seen by some ppl as a lip ahead ).

Happy blending !

EDIT: i don’t know if there are blender devs here but i got to mention that i’m a former dev ( 35 years in 3D asm, C,C++,C# :wink: ) and that it will/would be a pleasure to exchange with them about this great tool called blender :smiley:

1 Like

This is full of all the Dev team :slight_smile:

I don’t understand what you mean, for me “flat” it’s what is represented in the viewport, keep in mind that the option it’s under the “lighting” section, unlit shading without any kind of shadows or mesh volume “feeling” is what I would expect here:

Of course you can enable the viewport shadows to have some kind of volume feeling:

Or configure it to have a more “cel shading” feeling:

But I think that the term flat is accurate here :slight_smile:

What do you have in mind for “flat”?

1 Like

Flat shading a common term and that’s what he’s referring to.

And yes whats called flat here is not classic flat shading.

@pitibonom: What you are referring to is placed in the context menu under Shade smooth and Shade Flat

1 Like

Yep, but as I said, this is under the lighting section, so it’s inside the shading options, “flat lighting”, not flat shading :slight_smile:

BTW I’m all in about having a “flat shading” option for the whole viewport, not just the per-object/mesh property :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yeah i know that you did, but thats what he meant. Thats all.

1 Like

Then this is definetely the place i like to be :smiley: